Skip to main content
ERIK
ERIK

Biomechatronics software

Ongoing project. Development of a robot platform to support new interaction strategies of children with limited socio-emotional abilities.

Objective

Children with autism often experience difficulties in properly interpreting the facial expressions or speech of those around them, or conveying these socio-emotional signals themselves. Often they also find it problematic to consciously control such feelings as frustration or agitation. Yet these emotional and social competences are important to deal with one’s own emotions and those of others, or to resolve social conflicts. While having problems with human interaction, autistic children are often fond of technology. For this reason, communication with robots is often easier for them, since robots are simpler and more predictable than humans.

The research project ERIK therefore deals with the development of a robot capable of interacting with autistic children in order to support the development of socio-emotional skills during therapy. The robot Pepper comprehends both the child’s facial expression and their speech. He interprets these signals and deduces emotions in real time. By recognizing interest, frustration, and boredom in the child, therapy scenarios can be individually adjusted. Pepper can interact with children using gestures and eye movements, which can help to reduce anxiety in social interaction with people.

Challenge for ASTRUM IT

For this research project, ASTRUM IT is in charge of the integration and processing of the data used for quantitative and qualitative therapy assessment. The findings acquired this way are subsequently visualized on a dashboard. Besides, ASTRUM IT implements an interface by means of which the interaction strategies applied during the therapy can be evaluated. Only that evaluation can show whether the therapy approaches are heading in the right direction.

This innovative treatment approach is beneficial not only for the children. Since the therapist does not directly participate in the interaction, he/she can observe and evaluate the interaction in a more precise and objective way. Moreover, the robot is capable of interacting with more than one child at the same time.

Förderer

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Projektpartner

Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
Berlin School of Mind and Brain
Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS
Audeering - Intelligent Audio Engineering
Innovations Manufaktur

Direkt zum Inhalt
ERIK
ERIK

Biomechatronik-Software

Laufendes Projekt. Entwicklung einer Roboterplattform zur Unterstützung neuer Interaktionsstrategien bei Kindern mit eingeschränkten sozio-emotionalen Fähigkeiten.

Aufgabe

Kindern mit Autismus fällt es oft schwer, den Gesichtsausdruck und die Sprache ihres Gegenübers richtig zu interpretieren oder selbst solche sozio-emotionalen Signale auszudrücken. Häufig bereitet es ihnen zudem Probleme, Gefühle wie beispielsweise Frustration oder Aufregung bewusst zu regulieren. Diese emotionalen und sozialen Kompetenzen sind aber wichtig, um mit den eigenen und fremden Emotionen umzugehen oder soziale Konflikte zu lösen. Während autistische Kinder Probleme in der menschlichen Interaktion haben, zeigen sie häufig eine Affinität für Technik. So fallen ihnen häufig Interaktionen mit Robotern leichter, da diese simpler und vorhersehbarer sind als Menschen.

Im Forschungsprojekt „ERIK“ soll deshalb ein Roboter entwickelt werden, der mit autistischen Kindern interagieren kann, um die Entwicklung sozio-emotionaler Kompetenzen in der Therapie zu unterstützen. Der Roboter „Pepper“ erfasst dabei sowohl die Mimik als auch die Sprache des Kindes. Er interpretiert diese Signale und leitet in Echtzeit Emotionen ab. Durch das Erkennen von Interesse, Frustration und Langweile des Kindes, können die Therapieszenarien individuell angepasst werden. Mittels Gesten und Augenbewegungen kann „Pepper“ lebensnah mit Kindern interagieren, wobei Ängste im Umgang mit Menschen reduziert werden können.

Challenge für ASTRUM IT

ASTRUM IT ist im Forschungsprojekt für die Integration und Aufbereitung der Daten verantwortlich, die zur quantitativen und qualitativen Therapiebewertung genutzt werden. Die so erlangten Ergebnisse werden anschließend auf einem Dashboard visualisiert. Auch setzt ASTRUM IT eine Oberfläche um, mit der die in der Therapie angewendeten Interaktionsstrategien bewertet werden können. Erst durch die Bewertung kann sichergestellt werden, dass die Therapieansätze zielführend sind.

Der innovative Therapieansatz ermöglicht nicht nur das Training für die Kinder. Da der Therapeut nicht direkt an der Interaktion beteiligt ist, kann er die Interaktionen genauer und objektiver beobachten und auswerten. Auch ist der Roboter erstmals in der Lage, mit mehr als einem Kind gleichzeitig zu interagieren.

sponsor

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

project partners

Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
Berlin School of Mind and Brain
Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS
Audeering - Intelligent Audio Engineering
Innovations Manufaktur